Kopfbild
facebook logo

LAURA OWENS

22.09.2011 - 08.01.2012

Kunstmuseum Bonn is the first German museum to show a solo exhibition of Laura Owens who was born in Euclid, Ohio (USA) in 1970 and lives in Los Angeles today. With Laura Owens, who already had several exhibitions at renowned museums like the Museum of Contemporary Art Los Angeles (2003), Kunsthalle Zürich (2006) and Bonnefantenmuseum Maastricht (2007), Kunstmuseum Bonn presents, after Franz Ackermann, yet another important young position in contemporary painting.

Laura Owens undoubtedly takes a special position in the field of young contemporary painting, as her seemingly romantic and naïve pictorial language goes beyond the separation between abstract and figurative art. Only upon a closer look the analytical potential of her paintings dealing with the tradition of modernism becomes visible. Her paintings can be placed somewhere between vital colorism and symbolically charged figuration which at times reveals the absymal, at other times the dreamlike of existence. The almost childlike handwriting of the ornamentally charged paintings provokes the question about the limits of painting as art or as an element of everyday life.

In addition to numerous unique books made in 2011, the exhibition includes two comprehensive new series: One series, including several large-sized works, deals with the representational aspect of painting while the other series with smaller works questions the topic of time.

A catalog published by Kerber Verlag with essays by Stefan Gronert, Stephan Berg and Sarah Lehrer-Graiwer will accompany the exhibition.

Opening: Wednesday, 21 September, 8 p.m.

Laura Owens, Untitled, 2010/2011

Laura Owens, Untitled, 2010/2011

Kopfbild
facebook logo

LAURA OWENS

22.09.2011 - 08.01.2012

Das Kunstmuseum Bonn zeigt die erste Einzelausstellung der 1970 in Euclid, Ohio (USA) geborenen, heute in Los Angeles ansässigen Künstlerin in einem deutschen Museum. Nach ihren Ausstellungen in renommierten Häusern wie dem Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles (2003), der Kunsthalle Zürich (2006) und dem Bonnefantenmuseum, Maastricht (2007) wird damit nach Franz Ackermann erneut eine wichtige jüngere Position der zeitgenössischen Malerei vorgestellt.

###NEWS_VIDEO_1###

Laura Owens nimmt dabei eine besondere Position ein, da sie mit ihrer vermeintlich romantisch-naiven Bildsprache die Trennung von abstrakter und figürlicher Kunst hinter sich lässt. Auf den zweiten Blick wird jedoch auch das analytische Potential ihrer Bilder erkennbar, die sich erkennbar mit der Tradition der Moderne auseinandersetzen. Ihre Gemälde changieren dabei zwischen einem vitalen Kolorismus und einer scheinbar symbolisch aufgeladenen Gegenständlichkeit, die mal das Abgründige, mal das Traumhafte des Daseins zum Vorschein bringt. Die fast schon kindlich anmutende Handschrift der ornamental aufgeladenen Bilder provoziert die Frage nach den Grenzen der Malerei als Kunst oder als Bestandteil des Alltags.

Neben zahlreichen 2011 entstandenen Buch-Unikaten werden in Bonn zwei umfangreiche neue Serien von Owens zu sehen sein, die im großen Format das Abbildliche des Bildes bzw. im kleinen Format das Thema der Zeitlichkeit (u.a. durch sich bewegende Zeiger) in jedem Gemälde neu variieren.

Zur Ausstellung erscheint eine begleitende Publikation mit Texten von Stefan Gronert, Stephan Berg und Sarah Lehrer-Graiwer im Kerber Verlag .

Eröffnung: Mittwoch, 21. September, 20 Uhr

Laura Owens, Untitled, 2010/2011

Laura Owens, Untitled, 2010/2011