Kopfbild
facebook logo

THROUGH THE LOOKING BRAIN

A Swiss Collection of Conceptual Photography

14.01. - 25.09.2011

From June 23 until September 25, 2011 Kunstmuseum Bonn presents under the title ‘THROUGH THE LOOKING BRAIN’ the photography collection of Swiss Zellweger Luwa AG which has never been shown in public before.

Established by Ruedi and Thomas Bechtler in 1990 and constantly complemented by Cristina Bechtler, Ruedi Bechtler und Bice Curiger (Kunsthaus Zürich), the collection has become over the last 20 years one of the best and most comprehensive international collections in the field of conceptual photography.

The collection contains works from the 1970s until today, including main works by artists ranging from John Baldessari, Bernd and Hilla Becher, Sigmar Polke, Imi Knoebel, Martin Kippenberger, Thomas Ruff, Andreas Gursky, Fischli/Weiss, Roman Signer, Richard Prince, Jeff Wall, Hiroshi Sugimoto, to Stan Douglas, Ken Lum and Gabriel Orozco.

Luwa AG was founded by Hans and Walter Bechtler who already displayed art on their premises in the early 1950s. In 1955, Walter Bechtler established the foundation for art in public space which has given important impulses to the Swiss museum landscape.

After its presentation in Bonn, the exhibition will move to Kunstmuseum St. Gallen.

The exhibition will be accompanied by a catalog with essays by Stephan Berg, Konrad Bitterli, David Company, Stefan Gronert and an interview with Bice Curiger.

Opening: June 22, 2011

Kopfbild
facebook logo

THROUGH THE LOOKING BRAIN

Eine Schweizer Sammlung konzeptueller Fotografie

23.06. - 25.09.2011

Unter dem Titel „THROUGH THE LOOKING BRAIN“ präsentiert das Kunstmuseum Bonn vom 30. Juni bis zum 25. September 2011 die bislang noch nie öffentlich gezeigte, international bedeutende Fotosammlung der Schweizer Zellweger Luwa AG.

Entstanden auf Initiative von Ruedi und Thomas Bechtler ist diese 1990 begründete Sammlung heute eine der besten und umfassendsten  Sammlungen im Bereich konzeptueller, vorwiegend seriell angelegter Fotografie. Inhaltlich aufgebaut wurde sie in den zurückliegenden zwanzig Jahren von Christina Bechtler, Ruedi Bechtler und Bice Curiger (Kunsthaus Zürich).

Ihr Spektrum reicht dabei von den 1970er Jahren bis in die Gegenwart und umfasst u.a. Hauptwerke und zentrale Gruppen von John Baldessari, Bernd und Hilla Becher, Sigmar Polke, Imi Knoebel,  Martin Kippenberger, Thomas Ruff, Andreas Gursky, Fischli/Weiss, Roman Signer, Richard Prince, Jeff Wall, Hiroshi Sugimoto, bis hin zu Stan Douglas, Ken Lum oder Gabriel Orozco.

Inhaltlich völlig eigenständig steht die Sammlung historisch im Kontext der Aktivitäten der Vätergeneration - Hans und Walter Bechtler- , die bereits ab den frühen 50er Jahren Kunst in ihrem Unternehmen Luwa AG zeigten. Zudem gründete Walter Bechtler 1955 eine Stiftung  für Kunst im Öffentlichen Raum, die bis heute  wichtige Impulse für die Schweizer Kunstlandschaft gesetzt hat.

Die Ausstellung wird im Anschluss im Kunstmuseum St. Gallen zu sehen sein. Es erscheint ein umfassender Katalog mit Texten von Stephan Berg,  Konrad Bitterli,  David Campany, Stefan Gronert und Dora Imhof.

Eröffnung: Mittwoch, 22. Juni 2011 um 20 Uhr

Cindy Sherman, Untitled Film Still #25", 1978

Gabriel Orozco, Ball on Water, 1994

Peter Fischli/David Weiss, Blumen, 1998

Roman Signer, Wasserstiefel Explosion, 1986

Doug Aitken, The Movement, 2000

Richard Prince, Untitled, 1980-1984

Thomas Ruff, Ricola Mulhouse, 1994