Kopfbild
facebook logo

BONN ART AWARD 2009 – ALEXANDER BRAUN

WienerWalden

29.04.2010 - 23.01.2011

In 2009, the Art Award, which was modified in 2008, was given to Alexander Braun who spent his 3-month studio scholarship supported by Bonn-based IVG-Immobilien AG in Vienna where he prepared his exhibition now shown at Kunstmuseum Bonn.

WienerWalden is the sequel to Alexander Braun’s earlier project Walden in which he refers to Henry David Thoreau’s book of the same title (1854). Johann Strauß’ waltz (1868) and Ödön van Horváth’s play (1931) Tales from the Vienna Woods play an important role in Braun’s recent project on the Vienna Woods which on the one hand is a lyrical idealization and on the other hand a dismantling of the idyll which Horváth refers to as folk play.

Braun’s earlier works within the Walden project are characterized by the same ambivalence: Abstract strokes of color can be regarded as tree trunks and the calligraphic flow creates an illusion of the forest.

The concrete and the artificial are confronted with each other in Braun’s oeuvre. Excerpts are occasionally included in his paintings that rather remind us of drawings and participate in the artistic discourse. Will WienerWalden also become an intellectual experiment with poetic aspects? The exhibition will be accompanied by a comprehensive catalog designed by the artist himself.

Opening: November 17, 2010

Kopfbild
facebook logo

Bonner Kunstpreis 2009 - Alexander Braun

WienerWalden

18.11.2010 - 23.01.2011

Der 2008 neu konzipierte Kunstpreis wurde im Februar 2009 an den Künstler Alexander Braun vergeben, der sich im letzten Jahr - unterstützt von der in Bonn ansässigen IVG-Immobilien AG -  zur Vorbereitung der Ausstellung drei Monate in Wien aufhielt.

WienerWalden bedeutet die Fortsetzung seines Projektes „Walden“, dessen Titel auf das berühmte Buch von Henry David Thoreau (1854) zurückgeht. In seinem neuen Projekt über den Wienerwald dienen die „Geschichten aus dem Wienerwald“ von Johann Strauß (1868) und der Schriftsteller  Ödön von Horváth (1931) als musische und literarische Referenzgrößen: zum einen eine schwärmerische Idealisierung, zum anderen eine Demontierung des Idylls, die Horváth als Volksstück bezeichnete.

Diese Ambivalenz zeichnet auch die bisherigen Arbeiten von Braun zum Walden-Projekt aus. Abstrakte Farbbahnen können als Baumstämme angesehen werden und der kalligraphische Duktus des Künstlers gibt eine Illusion von Wald. Gegenständliches und Artifizielles begegnen sich in Brauns Werken. Textfragmente werden gelegentlich in seine Gemälde, die eher an Zeichnungen erinnern, eingearbeitet und  nehmen am künstlerischen Diskurs teil. Wird auch WienerWalden ein intellektuelles Experiment mit poetischen Zügen? Zur Ausstellung  erscheint ein umfangreicher Katalog aus der Hand des Künstlers.

Eröffnung: 17. November, 20 Uhr

 

Alexander Braun, To breath

Alexander Braun, WienerWalden (Videostill)

Alexander Braun, Flim-Flam-Tree (Detail), 2007

Alexander Braun, Mäeutischer Zweig

Alexander Braun, Oneeyed Pioneer