Kopfbild
facebook logo

August Macke

The purchase of the paintings in 1949 of “Tightrope Walkers” and “Turkish Café” by August Macke constituted the beginning of professional and programmatic collecting at the Kunstmuseum Bonn. At the same time, these works laid the groundwork for a particular emphasis of the Museum that still applies today.  In the ensuing years, one of the most extensive collections of Macke’s works was to be assembled, with paintings from all periods of his creative life, including a large number of watercolors and drawings.

August Macke, born in Meschede in 1887, grew up in Bonn and spent most of his life here. Macke was in no way merely a regional artist, however, but was in on the most important cultural and political activities of his time. During his development as an artist, he grappled with the various tendencies of his time, the art of Henri Matisse and later, Robert Delaunay, being of particular significance to him.

Macke’s contemporaries already recognized color as the central quality of Macke’s pictures, which the artist developed as a sovereign means of creation and expression. His friend Franz Marc wrote in 1914, after Macke’s early death at the beginning of World War I: “We painters are well aware that because his harmonies are no longer, all color in German art will pale by several shades and take on a blunter, dryer tone. Above all he gave us the color of the brightest and clearest hues, so clear and bright as his whole being was”. A deep belief in the order of the world speaks from Macke’s paintings. This order came directly from what was visible, the sensual experience of the world. A “Song of the Beauty of Things” was how Macke referred to his art, which was supposed to create parables for the harmony and unity of life.

August Macke, Garten am Thuner See, 1914
August Macke, Stillleben mit Apfelschale und japanischem Fächer, 1912
August Macke, Selbstbildnis mit Hut, 1909
August Macke, Seiltänzer, 1914

Kopfbild
facebook logo

August Macke

Die Erwerbung der Gemälde "Seiltänzer" und "Türkisches Café" von August Macke im Jahr 1949 bedeutete für das Städtische Kunstmuseum Bonn den Beginn einer professionell und programmatisch angelegten Sammlung. Zugleich wurde ein wesentlicher, bis heute gültiger Schwerpunkt des Museums formuliert. In den folgenden Jahren entstand eine der umfangreichsten Macke-Sammlungen mit Gemälden aus allen Schaffensphasen und einem großen Bestand an Aquarellen und Zeichnungen.

August Macke, 1887 in Meschede geboren, wuchs in Bonn auf und hat hier einen großen Teil seines Lebens verbracht. Macke war aber keineswegs ein regionaler Künstler, sondern an den wichtigsten kulturpolitischen Aktivitäten seiner Zeit beteiligt. In seiner Entwicklung setzte er sich mit den verschiedenen Strömungen seiner Zeit auseinander, besondere Bedeutung gewann die Kunst von Henri Matisse und später Robert Delaunay.

Schon die Zeitgenossen Mackes erkannten die zentrale Qualität der Bilder Mackes, die Farbe, die der Künstler zu einem souveränen Gestaltungs- und Ausdrucksmittel entwickelt hat. Sein Freund Franz Marc schrieb 1914 nach dem frühen Tod Mackes zu Beginn des Ersten Weltkriegs: „Wir Maler wissen gut, dass mit dem Ausscheiden seiner Harmonien die Farbe in der deutschen Kunst um mehrere Tonfolgen verblassen muß und einen stumpferen, trockeneren Klang bekommen wird. Er hat vor uns allen der Farbe den hellsten und reinsten  Klang gegeben, so klar und hell wie sein ganzes Wesen war.“ Aus den Bildern Mackes spricht ein tiefes Vertrauen in die Ordnung der Welt. Diese Ordnung erschloss sich unmittelbar aus dem Sichtbaren, dem sinnlichen Erlebnis der Welt. Einen „Gesang von der Schönheit der Dinge“, nannte Macke seine Kunst, die Gleichnisse für die Harmonie und Einheit des Lebens schaffen sollte.

August Macke, Garten am Thuner See, 1914
August Macke, Stillleben mit Apfelschale und japanischem Fächer, 1912
August Macke, Selbstbildnis mit Hut, 1909
August Macke, Seiltänzer, 1914