Kopfbild
facebook logo

Prints Collection

As a technical generic term, “prints” describes a type of art that is often regarded as being “inferior” or “old-fashioned”. This prejudice no longer applies to art of the 20th and 21st century. But what does still hold is the fact that works on paper and photographs may never be on yearlong display due to the danger of exposure to too much light, and thus, they may only be exhibited for short periods of time.

Seen from a positive standpoint, this means that the necessary change in the presentation of the works of art makes it worth your while to come to the Museum often!

The Kunstmuseum Bonn collects prints (i.e., etchings, copper engravings, silk-screens, etc.) but also drawings and artists’ books on an international basis, thus deviating from the collection strategy it otherwise maintains at the Museum (with its focus on German art). The collection of the Museum comprises a good 5000 works, and is thus small to medium-size in scope, though it does contain a few very special works.

There are important groups of works in the area of Rhenish Expressionism, artist’s books made by Max Ernst, the Multiples and drawings by Joseph Beuys, works on paper by Hanne Darboven, Blinky Palermo, Sigmar Polke, Gerhard Richter, Franz Erhard Walther, as well as prints by Günther Förg, Eduardo Chillida and English and American Pop Art. In the field of contemporary art, special mention must be made of recent drawings, as well as large-format wood engravings by Gert and Uwe Tobias.

 

Headerbild oben: Gerhard Richter, Haut II (nach einem Motiv von Carsten Nicolai aus der Serie „milch“) (Detail), 2004

Silvia Baechli, Ohne Titel, 1991
Gerhard Richter, Ice 2, 2003
Eduardo Chillida, Kate III, 1972

Kopfbild
facebook logo

Grafische Sammlung

Bei der Grafik handelt es sich um eine technische Gattungsbeschreibung, die vielfach als eher „minderwertig“ oder „verstaubt“ angesehen wird. Dieses Vorurteil lässt sich für die Kunst des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts so nicht mehr aufrecht erhalten. Was aber nach wie vor zutrifft ist der Umstand, dass Papierarbeiten und Fotografien aus Gründen des Lichtschutzes nie jahrelang, sondern immer nur zeitweilig ausgestellt werden. Positiv formuliert: Der programmierte Wechsel in der Präsentation der Kunstwerke macht einen wiederholten Besuch im Museum sinnvoll!

Das Kunstmuseum Bonn sammelt Grafik (d.h. Radierungen, Kupferstiche, Siebdrucke etc.), aber auch Zeichnungen und Künstlerbücher mit einer internationalen Ausrichtung und weicht damit von der sonstigen Sammlungsstrategie (Fokus: Deutsche Kunst) ab. Die Sammlung des Hauses umfasst gut 5.000 Blatt, ist also eher klein bis mittelgroß, weist aber einige besondere Leckerbissen auf.

Bedeutende Werkblöcke sind vorhanden im Bereich des Rheinischen Expressionismus, den Künstlerbüchern von Max Ernst, den Multiples und Zeichnungen von Joseph Beuys, Papierarbeiten von Hanne Darboven, Blinky Palermo, Sigmar Polke, Gerhard Richter, Franz Erhard Walther sowie Druckgrafik von Günther Förg, Eduardo Chillida und der englischen und amerikanischen Pop Art. Im Bereich der zeitgenössischen Kunst ist vor allem auf diverse Positionen der jüngeren Zeichnung sowie die großformatigen Holzdrucke von Gert und Uwe Tobias hinzuweisen.

Silvia Baechli, Ohne Titel, 1991
Gert & Uwe Tobias, Ohne Titel, 2008 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn, 2009
Gerhard Richter, Ice 2, 2003
Eduardo Chillida, Kate III, 1972
Gerhard Richter, Haut II (nach einem Motiv von Carsten Nicolai aus der Serie „milch“), 2004